The following appeared as part of an annual report sent to stockholders by Olympic Foods, a processor of frozen

foods:

“Over time, the costs of processing go down because as organizations learn how to do things better, they become

more efficient. In color film processing, for example, the cost of a 3-by-5-inch print fell from 50 cents for five-day

service in 1970 to 20 cents for one-day service in 1984. The same principle applies to the processing of food. And

since Olympic Foods will soon celebrate its 25th birthday, we can expect that our long experience will enable us to

minimize costs and thus maximize profits.”

The argument puts forward a claim that costs of processing go down because as an organisation learns how to do things better, it becomes more efficient. It draws an example from a colour film processing industry and generalises the application of the results observed to the food industry -for a particular organisation. The argument concludes that with similar experience this organisation will be able to minimise its costs and thus, resulting in maximisation of its profits. The argument is flawed-It has made certain assumptions without proper justification and in fact, interpreted the data presented wrongly. This makes the argument unconvincing, incomplete and weak.

Firstly, the argument mentions that "as organisations learn how to do things better"- In this sentence without mentioning the definition of what "better" means, the reasoning is quite weak. For making the reader understand the reasoning better, the argument needs to mention that better in terms of market experience, or processing experience or managing the employees better etc. This will help the reader understand the factors behind making an organisation better and thus more efficient.

Secondly, if you compare the data presented for the colour film processing example in the argument -it says the cost fell from 50 cents for five days of service in 1970 to 2 cents for one day service in 1984. This means 10 cents/day(50/5) in 1970 to 20 cents/day(20/1) in 1984. Thus, if we observe the maths here, the cost per day has actually increased rather than going down! Thus, this example actually instead of strengthening the argument is actually making it weak. It would have been more suitable to use an example where cost/day or cost/unit has gone down with time as a strengthener to the argument.

Lastly, the argument makes a huge mistake by just applying the results from one organisation (from a different industry)-that too flawed to another organisation from a completely different industry. Even if we assume an example in which the cost/day has gone down with time, without understanding the factors like- Product, competition, market, economy, organisation etc. - we can't just blindly expect the results to be exactly same for Olympics Food. The best correlation can happen with an organisation similar to Olympics Food in a similar market, similar product lines etc. This will strengthen the argument much more as we will be able to draw an analogy between the two organisation better.

Thus, in the absence of the data sets and by using the wrong example, the argument currently sounds more like wishful thinking rather than a claim explained with substantiated examples and theory. As mentioned above the argument could be made much more strong by drawing an analogy from an organisation in the food industry(similar one) and with similar other relevant factors, one needs to keep in mind.