When the Apogee Company had all its operations in one location, it was more profitable than it is today. Therefore, the Apogee Company should close down its field offices and conduct all its operations from a single location. Such centralization would improve profitability by cutting costs and helping the company maintain better supervision of all employees.

The argument states that as per the memorandum from a business department of an organisation- In case when it has all its operations in one single location, it was more profitable than it is today. Thus, it argues that in order to improve its profitability (by cutting costs and improving better supervision of its employees), it should close down its field offices and should promote centralisation of all its operations to a single location. The argument is not based on proper evidence and reasoning. Thus, it is flawed, inconsistent, weak and unconvincing.

Firstly, the argument draws reasoning based on a piece of evidence from the past where it was working from a centralised location and was more profitable than it is today. This reasoning is incomplete as there could be various other factors like cheaper raw material, better output, favouring regulatory scenario etc. , which would have made it more profitable in past than today. Thus, in the absence of these data points, concluding that it was 'just' the centralisation of operations to be a responsible factor and generalising it in today's scenario is not a correct methodology. Author needs to analyse the role of centralisation keeping in mind all the other possible contributing factors for the observed results.

Secondly, the author does not do a very non-through analysis of the situation observed. The point here is, instead of analysing what is causing the profitability to be not so high as compared to past and considering all the possible factors like dis-satisfied workers, increased competition, poor quality of products etc. is just focusing on 'one' of the many possible factors. Also, keeping in mind its 21st century, in which world is highly connected and globalisation is playing a major role in the growth of economies and organisations, it is very likely that de-centralisation is a better technique than centralisation for Apogee(I am assuming here that Apogee is a Multi-National Organisation). Many organisation have used decentralisation as a core part of their growth strategy as it offers benefits such as better technology, cheaper labour, larger market to approach etc. Thus, in all probability centralisation is not going to lead any benefits for Apogee.

Thirdly, the argument fails to explain the reasoning behind how centralisation will lead to better supervision of all the employees which it considers as a major factor to improve profitability. It has been proven in various studies that centralisation leads to mismanagement of all employee as its a far big crowd the management has to take care off( No. of employee per manager is higher, thus he/she can't devote enough time to each member). De-centralisation solves this problem as it also decentralises the management layer. Thus, in the absence of any proper data, this reasoning is weak.

Thus, the argument sounds more like wishful thinking as compared to an evidence-based argument. Analysis of various factors mentioned above would help the reader to understand the reasoning better. However, due to lack, such factors have not been incorporated in the argument it right now weak and completely flawed.