“When the Apogee Company had all its operations in one location, it was more profitable than it is today. Therefore, the Apogee Company should close down its field offices and conduct all its operations from a single location. Such centralization would improve profitability by cutting costs and helping the company maintains better supervision of all employees.”

Discuss how well reasoned you find this argument. In your discussion be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example, you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counterexamples might weaken the conclusion. You can also discuss what sort of evidence would strengthen or refute the argument, what changes in the argument would make it more logically sound, and what, if anything, would help you better evaluate its conclusion.

The argument claims that shutting down the field offices of Apogee Company will increase its profitability and will help maintain better supervision of employees. In support, the author has also stated that the company was more profitable in one location that it is today. The author fails to reveal key concerns, on the basis of which the argument can be evaluated. Thought the claim may well have merit, the author presents a poorly reasoned argument, for which the author has not provided any evidence. Hence argument is weak, unconvincing and has several flaws.

The primary issue with the argument is that the author does not provide the profitability data of the company when it had single operation and the data when the company has multiple operation offices. There could be slight fluctuation in profitability, which may be due to multiple reasons. It could be because the whole economy is on a downward trend or the company is in its initial phase where it has set up multiple operations.

Second, the author has based his conclusion on the assumption that the sole factor for the profitability is demographic position of the company. However the author did not mention any specific product type or service that company deals in. There could be reasons where Apogee Company has to deal with multiple offices to out reach the clients in respective location. Hence with this stretch assumption author, the conclusion remains unsubstantiated.

Finally, the author assumes that by centralization company will attain increase profits as well as maintain supervision of employees. Author also does not mention regarding the roles of employees in the company which directly co-relates to the nature of service or products provided by company. The duty of employees may include frequent visit for client interaction or may provide delivery at multiple locations, there cannot be any alternative way rather than to have multiple field offices to provide unobstructed service.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above reasons and therefore not convincing and not persuasive. It could be strengthen if the author would have mention more details regarding the nature of product/service, the roles of employee and the analysis of profitability of the company. Without the information, the argument is unsubstantiated and open to debate.