The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the prompt makes an argument which correlates the success of a firm with the number of hours of sleep required by its executives. However, in doing so, the author makes a number of assumptions which, if proven false, would cause the argument to fall apart.

Firstly, the study takes into account only 300 people. 300 people may not be enough to confirm the correlation. We cannot say whether the same trend follows for a large percentage of the population. It is quite possible that the same results will not be gleaned from the study when a higher number of people are surveyed. If the study gave the same results taking into account a large number of executives, the argument would be stronger. However, for 300 people, it just does not hold water.

The argument mentions that the executives were rated based on the average number of hours they slept each night. Perhaps these employees were very productive on days on which they felt well rested and had enough sleep the night before, and these days accounted for the majority of their profit margins. On the days before which they had less sleep, they might not have been very productive and made less profits those days relatively. The study needs to mention something about the distribution of the executives' profit margins with respect to the days before which they slept for less than 6 hours and the days before which they slept for more.

Lastly, the study's results are based on reports from the executives themselves. These accounts may not be accurate, for whatever reason. The executives may have calculated their averages wrong, or some may not want to admit how much time they actually sleep for. We simply cannot assume that the reports are truthful. If these reports were refuted, the argument would not be able to justify its conclusion.

Therefore, it is clear that even though the author's conclusion is based on a study, it makes a number of assumptions which may not be true. Without verifying the truthfulness of these assumptions, it is futile to conclude anything from it.