A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Every student's life is shaped by their school. It sets the foundation of their morals, principles and of course, their academics. Any bias must be avoided in the case of academics, which would only be possible if all students of a country be required to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

If a nation has a number of varying curriculums, some curriculums may not teach each subject in the same depth as the others. This could cause a bias in acceptance of students into college. A student who has studied in a school which offers a curriculum teaching subjects in more depth than another has an undue advantage over another equally capable student enrolled in another, less involved curriculum. The former student would be able to perform better on competitive entrance exams than the latter, even though both of them are equally intelligent and hard-working.

Another problem with varying curriculums would be the difference in diversity of the subjects in the curriculum. A curriculum offering a variety of courses would allow its students to have knowledge of more subjects and hence, more knowledge of the choices they have while entering college. Some of these choices would not even be considered by a student from a not so diverse curriculum. The result of this would be a fewer number of students enrolling for courses which are not well known or not covered in some syllabi. Aside from this, a student who may be brilliant in a specific field would not even consider it since he/she would not even know about it.

However, there could also be unforeseen problems with having a single national curriculum. Having students study the same syllabus would cause those less capable to fall behind. These students would not have the choice to pick an easier curriculum over a rigorous one. This could cause such students to lose interest in their academic activities.

Studying the same national curriculum could have a number of beneficial effects for the students of a country, along with avoiding undue bias during their admission into college. Such an initiative should be taken for the benefit of students throughout the nation.