The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

According to the business magazine, there is a relationship between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. It is said that companies which have had more profits, they have had people who sleep no more than 6 hours. So, for more profit, companies should hire people who sleep less than 6 hours. This argument has some weaknesses that I will mention in my essay.

The magazine has not said how many men and how many women have been in the research exactly. It only has said that 300 males and females. How many were males or how many were females? It has also failed to provide accurate statistical figures about this subject. How they know that other factors have not affected the performance of executives. Other factors such as salary, job satisfaction, and the work atmosphere. Has the only sleep hours affected the performance of executives? There is no evidence about how they do this research. Are they sure that the method used is correct? Based on what figures they believe that there is a relationship between sleep hours and the success of companies.

It has been said that executives who reported needing no more than 6 hours had more benefits for the companies. Only 300 people have been checked. So, the question is that the role of other people with more than 6 hours of sleep should be ignored. whether all successful people only sleep less than 6 hours? Considering such a factor for hiring people cannot be reasonable.

To summarize, in my view for hiring people, there are more important factors that should be considered. Also, more research should be done for this argument. Additionally, more statistical figures should be provided to strengthen the argument.