The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

This argument is well presented yet far-fetched. It lays a claim that each and every business to be successful should hire those advertising executives who sleep equal or less than 6 hours at night. Nevertheless, the argument is in effect unreasonable due to some flaws which can be observed through closer scrutiny, though it may appear plausible at first glance.

First of all, the argument relies on a weak correlation. The correlation alone between the sleeping hours and the productivity, scant evidence of the claimed cause and effect relationship. Perhaps, working hours throughout the day, even different working days through a week can affect the rate of successfulness of each executive. To illustrate further, a person may spend 4 hours a day but the rest of the day only devotes 2 hours to marketing due to marketing is not a time-consuming task. So, more details need to be provided and until then the argument’s suggestion lack any merit.

Secondly, one more problem with the argument involves the fact that the author potentially overestimates the circumstance and the argument is unrepresentative statistical results because the sample size is not that much large on which we can rely. In other words, the specific features of this sample community are also noteworthy. Let us look at other parameters that could involve in the survey like; the exact number of women and men, their physical condition, and the market in which they work. Also, we are not informed whether the timeframe for gathering this information has been commercially prosperous or not. Without ruling out these reasons, the argument simply cannot justify its proposal.

Finally, the author has not accounted for the possibility that the kind and category of the market, business and desire product is a significant factor. More precisely, some companies require in-person marketing staff, contrary to those who do the task by phone calls. So, the amount of energy required for these two types of business can be quite different. Absent any explanation of how and on what scope this study has compiled, I simply cannot accept the author’s claim.

To recapitulate, the author’s argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide more concrete evidence, perhaps by way of a more detailed and more transparent survey, or a detailed analysis of a broader range of enterprises that benefit from skilled marketing officials. Without these changes, the argument is implausible and the reasoning is faulty.