The following appeared as part of an article in a Dillton newspaper In an effort to bring new jobs to Dillton and stimulate the city s flagging economy Dillton s city council voted last year to lower the city s corporate tax rate by 15 percent at the same

The argument claims that since the Dilton opened two new factories the unemployment rate should be decreased, but rather the unemployment remains same. Thus, the author concludes that this new factories must have hired people out of town. Although at first it seems logical, the argument is overlooks other factors that could have contributed in keeping the unemployment rate the same.

Firstly, the author is assuming that creating new companies and hiring new employees in Dilton will lower the unemployment rate. In concluding this, the author overlooks other factors such as increased population, closing of other factories/offices. Since the town advertised that it will provide necessary grants to the new companies, and reduce the corporate tax, it may have not only influenced the outside companies but also the people out of town. Many unemployed people living around the town of Dilton may have moved to the Dilton in hope to find a job. Thus increased number of population may have undermined the new employment that was created by the two new companies in the Dilton. Moreover, closing of companies for some reason may have maintained the unemployment rate. In order to qualify the argument, the author should first provide sufficient evidence to the factors mentioned above.

Further, the argument does not clarify the method for measuring the unemployment rate. It is possible that the author may have defined people currently looking for jobs as unemployed or perhaps all the graduates from the college irrespective of their interest for finding a job can be considered as an unemployed. In such case, it is likely that prior to a year when two companies opened, the graduation rate was lower. But after those companies opened, the graduation rate increased as more students regained the hope as government of Dilton initiated their efforts in improving the unemployment rate.

Author should first clarify this phenomenon to avoid any scrutiny in the claim.

In conclusion, the author has provided a valid reasoning for the unemployment rate to remain the same even after the opening of two new companies. But the author overlooks other factors such as population variation, status of other factories and defining the unemployment rate. Until the author provides substantial information and evidence about these mentioned factors, the claim of the argument is rather weak.