The following appeared as part of an article in a magazine devoted to regional life.

“Corporations should look to the city of Helios when seeking new business opportunities or a new location. Even in the recent recession, Helios’s unemployment rate was lower than the regional average. It is the industrial center of the region, and historically it has provided more than its share of the region’s manufacturing jobs. In addition, Helios is attempting to expand its economic base by attracting companies that focus on research and development of innovative technologies.”

Discuss how well reasoned... etc

To start off, the conclusion that corporations should look to the city Helios for new business opportunities or relocation omits feasible and authentic evidences which are necessary to substantiate the argument. Evidence argument presents concerning Helios share of employment in manufacturing jobs being an industrial center and the employment rate during recession. Continuing with another evidence argument presents concerning Helios attempt to expand its economic base focused on research and development of innovation technologies lacks persuasion for target market based on historical data of Helios. Most conspicuously, the argument does not address neither impact nor needs, preferences and auxiliary functional requirements of different types of corporations but rather simply describes superficial statistics without authentic comparison.

Firstly, the first evidence argument assumes that the city Helios is diverse enough to facilitate different types of corporations with different preferences. However, on one hand, it is questionable whether Helios can support all types of corporations. Helios has attracted mainly industrial and manufacturing corporations in the past, hence this will have inherent effect of increase in prospective pool of employees in industrial and manufacturing sector. For example, needs of research and development of innovative technology corporations cannot be met by employee trained for manufacturing skills. On the other hand, technology corporation’s location preferences will be different from industries, thus leaving Helios with a disadvantage being an industrial center region. For example, technology corporations look for peaceful climate and ease of access to other parts of world. Clearly, for these reasons, it is unlikely Helios can possibly attract research and development of innovative technology companies.

Secondly, there will be scarcity of available work force required according to the needs of corporations since it has enjoyed lesser than average unemployment rate during recent recession. For example, corporations which need large work force must spend more on attracting existing employees with more wages and/or invest in developing required skill set for work force which are left out of employment in Helios, both of which are unlikely options for corporations either being new into business or expanding to new location or relocating. Clearly, this is another reason, it’s unlikely that Helios will be successful in its attempt to attract companies that focus or research and development of innovative technologies

Finally, to conclude, author has not succeeded in providing compelling reasons for selecting Helios as the site for a company wishing to relocate. Nor has the author provided compelling reasons for companies seeking new business opportunities to choose Helios, author must make an intentional effort to address needs, preferences and auxiliary support to attract research and development of innovative technology companies. As the presented argument leaves out the clarity and consciousness on aforementioned critical issues, it is neither sound nor persuasive. If it had included the key items discussed above instead of citing superficial stats and plans for target market, the argument would have been more thorough and convincing.