The following appeared as part of an annual report sent to stockholders by Olympic Foods, a processor of frozen foods.

"Over time, the costs of processing go down because as organizations learn how to do things better, they become more efficient. In color film processing, for example, the cost of a 3-by-5-inch print fell from 50 cents for five-day service in 1970 to 20 cents for one-day service in 1984. The same principle applies to the processing of food. And since Olympic Foods will soon celebrate its twenty-fifth birthday, we can expect that our long experience will enable us to minimize costs and thus maximize profits."

Discuss how well reasoned you find this argument. In your discussion be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example, you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counterexamples might weaken the conclusion. You can also discuss what sort of evidence would strengthen or refute the argument, what changes in the argument would make it more logically sound, and what, if anything, would help you better evaluate its conclusion.

The annual report sent by the Olympic Foods to the stakeholders claims that their long experience would enable them to minimize costs and maximize profits. The report makes a connection between Olympic Foods current production costs with that of color film processing with an example, which if counted as true could benefit the processor of frozen foods.

The statement that over the time the costs of processing go down because organizations learn how to do things better and therefore become more efficient. This argument is supported by an example from a different field of producer, the color film processing stating the cost of production fell from 50 cents to 20 cents in 1970. The provided example could be true since the demand for color film might have increased exponentially resulting in its increased production and ultimately dropping its cost of production. The dropping in price could also be a result of the product eventually going out of usage with digital advancements. If this were true then the conclusion drawn by the report would not remain relevant to the claim.

The above assumption that cost of production is reduced over the time might not be valid for every field. The reduced cost of production does not mean that product is in increase demand. The assumption is valid as long as the product is in high demand in market and the company is able to produce it in abundance with low cost of production, only then they would be in a position to maximize their profits. Increase demand in color film may not equally imply that there is a increased demand of frozen foods which undermines the principle of the report.

As evidenced the report engages in two assumptions which simultaneously result in the principle stating low cost of production would maximize the profits. Both the assumptions hold validity to a certain extent, which if is not correct would then undermine the conclusion stated. For that reason the report fails to analyze the accurate factors or key points which would emphasize and validate the given conclusion. Therefore the report should have added more relevant data to support the stated conclusion.