Every Individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

Every individual in a society does have a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws to a certain extent. Throughout the centuries policymakers and lawmakers have crafted laws as there have been various conflicts, wars and revolutions that required a set of principles for maintaining a state of just and fair society. Laws have been formed for the safety and well being of the society. However disobeying laws governed by personal judgement under extreme consequences could be accepted based on the situation.

For a law to be effective every individual has its own contribution towards it. Every person has a responsibility to obey laws that are just irrespective of what one thinks might not be ideal morally. Laws are responsible for distinguishing between actions that could potentially harm the society or result in its better functioning. As a responsible member one needs to follow certain protocols that ensure proper functioning of society and its people. People accountable for posing a threat to the society should be held responsible. In a country like India where corruption exists in almost all the places a just set of principles to ensure that the hard-earned money of the tax payers is utilized for the betterment of society and not for one’s own benefits is very crucial. Every citizen is responsible for maintaining the decorum of the country in all aspects.

However, disobeying laws on the basis of personal judgement or under extreme situations is acceptable to a certain context. Every individual has its own judgement or a way of perception which one might think is ideally or morally correct and just. There is no standard definition which bifurcates doings which are just and unjust, but that doesn’t mean every single situation is acceptable as unjust. There have been many revolutions and protests where people stood up against the law which were unjust. The most recent demonstrations were the one which happened in Taiwan, a state in Chinese province. The people of Taiwan protested against the policymakers and were demanding justice for disobeying laws. To resist unjust laws could have different meaning for different individuals.

The claim every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws could be completely agreed upon in a certain context. Every person is responsible for following a set of protocols that ensure better functioning and well being of the society. Laws are meant to keep the society just, but the members also have an obligation for maintaining peace and harmony.