"Whether in politics or in business, leaders of any group need to understand that learning to compromise is ultimately more important than winning."

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the opinion stated above. Support your position with reasons and/or examples from your experience, observations, or reading.

The statement Whether in politics or in Business, leaders of any group need to understand that learning to compromise is ultimately more important than winning is plausible to a certain extent. In business winning seems quite important since a successfull businessman thrives upon his ability to drive his firm or organisation in the right direction, which is also the case with politics, where a politicians ability to lead his party or workers to victory marks his ability to govern the party. A leader is the one who is in the driving seat for driving his party and organisation towards success. There are times when the hardest choices require strongest wills and learning to compromise sometimes for a cause which could benefit the organisation seems more important than winning.

Winning is a mentality not a method which encourages any organisation to thirve upon. Every individual must equally contribute for the same since it is the individuals in any group or organisation which ultimately add up to the organisation's success and win. However one should at the same time not forget that sometimes compromising is more important than winning. Throughout the history there have been various examples which alleviate this claim. During India's war for Independence against the British colonial power, India's freedom fighters had to sacrifice many things to give India Its independence. In order to give India Independence the Indian freedom fighters had to compromise with their treasurs worth millions which the british rulers had demanded as a compensation. This ultimately resulted in India getting its Independence.

Every individual has his own judgement which drives his decision for the same. We all should be more determined towards winning than compromising. However every situation demands for a different way of approach. Compromising for a cause which can later on lead to success seems more plausible than aggressively maintaining the position to win. Even in politics and Business people have to compromise sometimes as one can never be inevitable at winning. Having the patience to deliver is the key principle to winning.

In conclusion the statement that leaders of any group need to understand that learning to compromise is ultimately more important than winning even in politics and business is true to a certain extent. Winning seems more important at times however, learning to compromise sometimes leads more important decisions than winning.