The following appeared as part of an article in the travel section of a newspaper:

"Over the past decade, the restaurant industry in the country of Spiessa has experienced unprecedented growth. This surge can be expected to continue in the coming years, fueled by recent social changes: personal incomes are rising, more leisure time is available, single-person households are more common, and people have a greater interest in gourmet food, as evidenced by a proliferation of publications on the subject."

Discuss how well reasoned you find this argument. In your discussion be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example, you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counterexamples might weaken the conclusion. You can also discuss what sort of evidence would strengthen or refute the argument, what changes in the argument would make it more logically sound, and what, if anything, would help you better evaluate its conclusion.

The argument concludes that the growth of restaurant industry in the country of Spiessa is going to continue in the coming years. To support this conclusion, the author cites the evidence that the rising personal income, increasing single-person households and people’s increased interest on gourmet food will keep restaurant in Spiessa being popular. I found that this conclusion is not sound, however, because the argument is flawed for following reasons:

First of all, the author readily assumes that the growth of restaurant industry of Spiessa in the past decade has been caused by the social changes mentioned above. However, a lot of factors should be taken into consideration to analyze the success in a specific industry. For example, restaurant industry will always benefit from the thriving tourism industry in the country, it might be possible that Spiessa has been doing very successful in developing the tourism in the country, so that the foreign visitors accounted for the largest proportion of the restaurant consumers. On the other hand, government’s support is also very important to the development of an industry. It could be true that the Spiessa’s government has done some tax-cut scheme to the local restaurants, so that more investor is willing to open a restaurant and most restaurant are able to offer good-quality food with more affordable price. Therefore, the social changes in people’s personal life is not necessary the main cause of the growth of restaurant industry in Spiessa.

Moreover, the guidance from the government is also very vital for the development of restaurant industry in the coming years. The author didn’t mention any plan from government in terms of financial support and regulation reform for the restaurant industry. Rather, it just mentioned the changes from the consumers’ side. If government decide to add tax on restaurant industry or make the regulation stricter in the coming years, more and more restaurant will find it’s hard to maintain the businesses even the consumers are still keen on spending money on restaurant. Hence, it would be imprudent to forecast the growth in restaurant industry with the limited evidence provided.

In summary, this argument is not compelling because it omitted many other factors that should be addressed. To make it more acceptable, the author would have to provide evidence to analyze the main factors that helped the restaurant industry in Spiessa succeed in the past decade. And evidence is also needed to support the fact that government is going to support the restaurant industry in the coming years.