The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement that the greatness of individuals can only be evaluated by theirs descendants is certainly refutable. It is true that some celebrities gain their reputations after their death. However, there’re also many people becoming famous soon after they have done great things which benefit ordinary people a lot.

Admittedly, many great people don’t receive the treatment they deserve when they are alive, especially some artists. For example, Picasso, a talent painter, was absolutely ignored by his contemporaries, but his paintings have been recognised by the modern society. Many people are willing to spend a lot of money to buy his works.What causes this situation? I think Picasso’s paintings were way ahead of his era and people in that ear didn’t have the ability to enjoy the gorgeous works.

However, artistic field is very special and it cannot stand for the overall conditions. Nobel Prize, as we all know, is set for praising people who contribute to economy, physics, physiology, etc. One of the criteria of this prize is that it only gives to people who are alive. For example, Yoyo Tu, Nobel Prize winner in 2015, developed a medicine to cue malaria , which has saved hundreds of thousands of people’s lives. Before her invention, more than 50 percent of people in the world live in the threat of malaria. Apparently, her greatness has been recognised by the most authoritative institution, and the public also know her contribution to the world.

Moreover, athletes also can enjoy their fame as long as they win more games and titles. For example, Yao Ming, a famous basketball player, has already been recognised as the hero and symbol of China. Because of his great performance in NBA, he is not only well accepted by Chinese but also by fans around the world. As basketball is one of the most popular sports, many people will watch basketball games and promising players can be soon spotted by the public. The players don’t need to worry about whether they will lie unknown by the public as long as they play great games.

In sum, people in some areas like art are easily overlooked by their generations, because people can’t understand their works. However, for most areas, such as science and sports, people’s real talent and contribution will soon be recognised by others.