In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Because of the failure of speed limit regulation, the author claims that Prunty County should execute the same method to improve road condition, such as increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough roads and enabling higher visibility at dangerous intersections, to reduce car accidents. However, the claim seems to be eloquent at first glance, it reveals logical flaws on scrutiny.

To begin with, whether the failure of such an enactment is real should be justified with statistical evidence. The author states that the number of accidents has not decreased. However, it is entirely possible that there’re more vehicles driving in the highways of Prunty County, which is inevitably causing the proliferation of car accidents. Without providing the accident rate(for example, the number of accidents per thousand), it is imprudent to draw the conclusion that the newly imposed regulation has failed.

Moreover, even if the speed limit has failed, mechanical emulating the policy of Butler County may not lead to the expected results. The improvement project in Butler County certainly require a lot of funds. As the local government should be responsible for every expense it spends, the decision to intake the action done by Butler County will never be an easy task. Detailed project plan should be made in order to get the approval from County Council and its residents. Without such a plan, I will not be convinced by the viability of the improvement project. In addition, before making the project plan, the official should also evaluate current highway conditions. If most of the highways are in good conditions, the improvement project seems to be useless.

Also, the author quotes a figure that a 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County last year in order to prove the success of the improvement project. However, as the figure only stands for the situation in the last year, it is absolutely possible that the figure is an aberration, and the number of car accidents in other years is no difference compared to the figure before the execution of the improvement program. Thus, the author should present more data from a longer period of time to make his statement more persuasive.

In sum, the author wants to introduce the improvement program conducted in Butler County and lower the number of car accidents in Prunty County, but he fails to justify whether such a program is suitable to Prunty County. To bolster his claim, more specific data and a project plan should be done to make it more eloquent.