The following appeared as part of a campaign statement for Velazquez, who is seeking election as alderman in the town of Barchester:

“Under Police Commissioner Draco, the city of Spartanburg began jailing people for committing petty crimes such as littering, shoplifting, and spraying graffiti. Criminals in Spartanburg must have understood that lawlessness would no longer be tolerated, because the following year Spartanburg saw a 20% drop in violent crimes such as homicide. Our town should learn from Commissioner Draco’s success, and begin a large-scale crackdown on petty crime.”

In response to the large-scale petty crimes in Barchester, the author argues that measures should be taken to follow Police Commissioner Draco's implemented rules in Spartanburg city in order to change the mindsets of criminals. This argument suffers from a number of flaws, ranging from flimsy use of evidence to ill-conceived elements of proposal.

The author fails to consider the type of crimes happening in both the cities, as we see there is 20% drop in homicides in Spartanburg city does the Barchester city have homicide cases ? if so what is the percentage of homicide cases in Barchester ? Also the author's main agenda is to control the petty crimes not violent crimes like homicide. This statement particularly de-railing the main objective of the author.

Secondly, the author also failed to consider the literacy rate, crime rate and the nature of people (like age group & family background) in the two different cities, the people in Spartanburg might not be as literate as Barchester also the employment rate might be less in Spartanburg compared to Barchester where all these factors turning the people to involve in these petty crimes for meeting their daily basic expenses. It also depends on the family background, as mostly if it is a good educated family then most of their younger generations will always look into positive good way which will be vice versa in other scenario. Even this needs to be taken into consideration before coming to the conclusion as the agenda plays a crucial role for winning the elections.

Thirdly, the author also fails to consider the average daily expenses in both the cities, because in one of the research studies it got proved that "if the person is satisfied to meet basic minimum expenses then he won't be daring to participate in the crimes". So based on this study the living expenses might be costlier in Spartanburg compared to Barchester where it leads to more petty crimes in Spartanburg compared to Barchester. This flaw also need attention form author to turn his argument into a strong way.

In order to improve the proposal, the author would need to establish first, similarities between two cities by considering the factors like Literacy rate, employment rate etc.. which strongly motivate the people to participate in petty crimes. Second, the author need to modify the plan and loo for cities where there is reduction in petty crimes as he is comparing about the petty crimes between two cities but not with the Homicides which indeed comes under violent crimes. Even then, the fact that situations in life and necessities in the human life will inevitably change the people to make crimes renders this plan morally suspect.