The following appeared as part of the Dean’s newsletter:

"The University of Wabash is considering a community service requirement for all undergraduate and graduate students. We believe that the objective of any university is to produce well-rounded and charitable members of society. The proposed graduation requirement would be to complete at least 8 hours of unpaid community service per month for a total of 9 months. The Dean’s office will maintain a list of approved local charities on its website with contact information. This is a fantastic opportunity for students to give back to the community and gain real-world working experience. Most importantly, local charities in need will receive the help that they need to continue their efforts."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

It has been proposed in the Dean's Newsletter of University of Wabash to sanction 8 hours of unpaid community service per month to certain local charities as a requirement of graduation. The purpose of this proposal is to enlighten the students with some experience of the real world working environment. Although the correlations stated in the prompt for making this proposal a successful one are well documented, there are still some unanswered questions and assumptions which are to be cleared of before making any decision.

To begin, it is said in the prompt that the part time service of the students to the local communities will be an unpaid one. But in the real world there are hardly any services which are of free of costs. Then how it can be assumed that the students will get a feel of the real world working environment. If giving a taste of real world working environment is the priority then the university should provide the students with a certain amount of honourary for their efforts and time.

Another thing is presumed that a total of 72 hours of service by a student will be enough to inoculate him to the real world environment. The time aforementioned come to as one of the minimum requirements to be graduated. But what if the students failed to complete this internship? Nevertheless, as a student it is not one's prime duty to work before their graduation, but it is always good. But the time limit for an individual should not be certained. There might be diffculties with different students. Some students might suffer from heavy workloads, some from huge study loads and the list goes on. In those cases, the internship programme will be nothing but a burden to them.

Thirdly, it is emphasized that the local charities will get their works done by the students who will do the part time work there. But is is assumed that the students will be efficient enough in their jobs of the local charities. What if it is found out later that the students doing internships there are not worth enough for these kind of works?

So looking all the assumptions and statements uttered above it wont be a wise decision to come to a conclusion before getting clear answers of the questions.