The following appeared as part of the Dean’s newsletter:

"The University of Wabash is considering a community service requirement for all undergraduate and graduate students. We believe that the objective of any university is to produce well-rounded and charitable members of society. The proposed graduation requirement would be to complete at least 8 hours of unpaid community service per month for a total of 9 months. The Dean’s office will maintain a list of approved local charities on its website with contact information. This is a fantastic opportunity for students to give back to the community and gain real-world working experience. Most importantly, local charities in need will receive the help that they need to continue their efforts."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The given information states that unpaid community service will be made compulsory for undergraduate and graduate students for nine months. While the decision of the dean might hold water, it rests on several unfounded assumptions that, if unsubstantiated, will weaken the persuasiveness of the argument. Thus, the following three questions must be addressed.

First, will the mandatory community service transform the students into being more charitable and all-rounders? It is possible that the students may take the community service tasks as a burden and complete them as a mundane task without developing a sense of charity within them. On the contrary, this may lead to the development of bitter feelings among students towards community service. Thus, making community service as a requirement may not surely lead to changing the mindset of the students and making them more sympathetic towards their community.

Second, will the time spent on doing community service have no impact on the academics of the students? It is possible that the students may suffer in their academics if they are made to spend 8 hours of every month on a non-academic activity. Moreover, the students may not be able to devote their time to specific projects and skill development programs because of being overburdened by the community service. Since the community service does not carry any weightage in academics, the students may feel overburdened by it and consider it a wastage of their precious time.

Finally, will the time spent on unpaid community service have any effect on the financial condition of the students? Since the community service is unpaid, it may have a negative impact on the economic state of the students. The students may prefer to do paid work in those 8 hours to earn money for their tuition fees and other expenses rather than unpaid work at charitable organizations. Hence, mandatory community service can have a deleterious effect on the financial condition of the students.

In conclusion, the dean may have come to a sound conclusion regarding the mandatory community service, but more information is needed before a firm decision is reached. Thus, the above questions must be addressed to evaluate the validity of the conclusion.