Technology, while apparently aimed to simplify our lives, only makes our lives more complicated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The past few decades have seen a sudden growth in technology. I do not fully agree with the statement that the technology has made our lives more complicated rather than simplyfying it. I take this stand due to the following reasons.

First, advancements in technology has led to better standards of living for the entire mankind. For example, today everyone has access to clean drinking water in their kitchen due to rapid growth of UV and RO technology. Air, rail, road communications are better than ever before and tech gadgets like mobile phones, laptops, etc. are faster and smoother compared to the old days. This has helped people to connect with each other and made their lives easier tremendously. All this technology advancement has led to higher level of satisfaction and happiness in an individual's life.

Second, automation of tasks has been made easier by the growing technology in most of the sectors of the world. For example, currently many of the factories and industries in the world have automated many of their tasks and thus, these tasks can be completed without any human indulgence now. This has led to better efficiency and productivity of these industries. In software industry, better neural networks have been modelled which have capability to learn taks and patterns that were thought to be impossible by machines in the past. Thus, advancements and growth of technology has resulted in automation of so many fields and thus have increased eficiency and made our lives easier.

Although the technology has some merits, but at the same time, technology has made our lives more isolated and dependent. People are nowadays more interested and cautious about their image online and are immensely lost in their gadgets so much that they have lost touch with the real world. The dependence of people on technology have also increased to the levels that most people cannot compute basic sums without using calculators on their phones. Gaming consoles like Xbox and Playstation which were meant to be stressbusters for students and adults, have successfully destroyed lives of millions of people who spent most of their time on these consoles rather than doing something productive. Thus, technology may have made our lives easier and better to a large extent but we cannot ignore some of the negative effects of it.

Thus, this is an intricate and complex issue. But we can conclude that although there are some negative aspects of technology which have made our life more complicated, but largely, the number of benefits outperform the negative effects and hence helps to make our lives better.