Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is rightly said that if you want to understand the preasent, first understand the past. I strongly disagree with the point that understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership. There are severval reasons in support of my point of view as explained below.

First, it is a basic fact that history repeats itself. Thus, understanding the past helps the current leaders to avoid the same mistakes that were committed by their predecessors. For example, if a country in the past went into the hands of a military dictator, then it will be benefecial for the current leaders to know what and how the same incident in the past happened and thus be prepared to tackle this issue if it arises in their regime. Another example that can be looked at is that of Nazi Germany. If the current leaders of Germany know how democracy was sabotaged during the regime of Hitler, then these current leaders can frame better laws and wil have a higher chance in avoiding the incidents that happened under the regime of Hitler. Therefore, knowing and understanding the past is very important for current leaderhip to avoid the same mistakes and thus, provide a better future for thier followers or citizens.

Second, understanding the past is crucial to understanding your culture and roots. If you want to know how present situations were came, it is necessary to understand the past. For example, it is important for the leaders in a country like Ukraine to know how were the relations between Ukraine and Russia when both of these countries were part of a larger country known as Soviet Union(USSR). Also, it is important for the leaders of both the countries to know why and how Ukraine and Russia were separated in order to have corrdial relations in the present. Therefore, understanding the past is very important to understand how the present was derieved and gives a deeper insight into one's culture and roots.

But in some cases, if the leaderhip is too busy studying and understanding the past that it completely ignores the importance of present, then in such a case the followers and citizens under that leadership are surely doomed. The leadership should not be too engrossed in the past that they completely forget about present. Also sometimes, the leaders of a country invoke examples from their past civilizations in order to justify their unwarranted actions in the present. Hence, it is important for leadership to understand past but not to misuse it or get completely engrossed in it.

Thus, as explained above this is an intricate and complex issue and does not have a straightforward answer. But even then, in most situations, understanding the past is very imporant to those in current positions of leadership.