As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The past decades have seen rapid growth in the technological sector. With the increase in technology, the dependence of humans on technology has also increased rapidly. But I can't entirely agree with the statement that if people rely more on technology, then the thinking ability of humans will surely deteriorate. I oppose the statement due to the following reasons.

First, relying on technology to solve problems helps us to improve our current methods of learning and makes us more efficient. For example, there is an ample amount of sources for learning on the internet today. Still, to utilize these sources, we need to work hard on the concepts and make use of the knowledge which is available on the internet. Thus, using the internet here not only helps us to solve problems quickly, but it also improves our current understanding of the topics which we need to search on the internet. Also, this helps us to improve the efficiency, productivity, and accuracy of our tasks.

Second, if humans become more and more dependent on technology, then the level of technology should increase to meet the ever-growing demands of humans. But this demand is met by humans only by creating better and new technology with time. For example, the development of neural networks in the past decade has made many top companies of the world dependent on them. But the accuracy of these neural networks should keep on increasing, and this increase in accuracy is also met by other humans which should keep on making better models of neural networks. Thus, this is a continuous chain which means that the more we rely on technology, more and faster will be the development of new technology.

But, in some aspects relying excessively on technology has deteriorated the condition, especially if before clearing fundamentals, a person gets the required technology. For example, many people nowadays are so dependent on technology that they cannot even compute the basic arithmetic operations without a calculator. This can have severe consequences. Another example is that of social media whose usage in the past decade has increased by manifold. People nowadays are too dependent on social media that they are entirely out of touch with reality. So, relying on technology is not harmful but relying 'only' on technology without using your brain cells is very detrimental.

Although there are some demerits of relying excessively on technology to solve our problems but we safely can say that the number of merits outperforms the demerits. Hence, technology helps us to increase the productivity and efficiency of our tasks.