Those who see their ideas through, regardless of doubts or criticism others may express, are the ones who tend to leave a lasting legacy.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

An idea is the most crucial thing that is capable of transforming society and one must be free and determined to express his or her ideas regardless of what others say. I agree with the given statement that those who see their ideas through, regardless of doubts or criticism others may express, are the ones who tend to leave a lasting legacy. I take this stance due to the following reasons.

First, a person should be determined enough to say what he or she feels right or wrong. The person shoud have the clarity of ideas and should be willing to put those ideas forth inspite of the reactions that other people may show towards these ideas. The people who follow this scheme in their life are remembered forever and their legacy becomes everlasting. For example, Aristotle expressed his ideas thoroughly and with utmost clarity on many topics without caring how people might react to it. As we know today, Aristotle is one of the most famous philosophers of all time.

Second, a person should not get affected by the opinions of society and thus, should not change his or her ideas due to the fear of the society. For example, at the time of Galileo, the church and the society used to believe that earth is at the center of the solar system. But, Galileo was firm on his idea that Sun is at the center of the solar system rather than earth. But the ideas of Galileo survived the tests of time and made him one of the most popular scientist of all time. Another example is that of Leo Tolstoy. Tolstoy was banished by Russian orthodox church for expressing his ideas. Today, the legacy of Leo Tolstoy speaks for itself.

Sometimes, if a large number of people are criticizing you, then it may be possible that your ideas are too parochial rather than being futuristic. For example, a person who does not recognize the human rights of LGBT community in 21st century will be strongly criticized by all parts of the society. This does not mean that the ideas of that person are too futuristic that society is not able to understand it, but instead, these ideas are too uncivilized to be accepted in the 21st century. Hence, in some cases it is better to introspect you ideas rather than being firm on them.

Thus, this topic may seem that it is intricate and complex. But after analyzing it thoroughly, we can say that those who see their ideas through, regardless of doubts or criticism, tend to leave a lasting legacy.