The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

There are many unwarrented assumptions based upon which the author forms the conclusion that so called "Palean" baskets were not unique to Palean. If any or all of the unstated assumptions doesn't hold good, then the author would be completely wrong. Let us go through these unstated assumption and see their implications on the conclusion if they don't hold true.

The author states that Palea boats hadn't been found. There is no mention of how exhaustive the archaeological survey had been. The survey must have been very limited in area. Had the survey covered lareger area to explore, the Palea boats might have been found which undermines the fact that Paleans had no chance of crossing the river as they did not have boats.

Rivers did not come into existence the very day the earth was formed. Rivers are formed by geological processes. Rivers that are teeming with water and aquatic life today might have once been a dry and parched land. The author didn't consider the history of the Brim River. When was it formed? How wide and deep was it when Palean people lived? The answers to the questions will definitely help us understand if the Palean ilks were able to traverse the land that is conquered by Brim River by other means. The author should also consider the fact that rivers can sometimes encroach the area they are flanked by as the time progresses. The Brim river must have washed away any remains of the boats used by Palean people due to which Paleans boats were not found.

What about the boats in Lithos? The author seems to have overlooked this question. It is possible that the people in Lithos had boats with which there were able to cross the river and bring back the Palea baskets as a result of which they were found in Lithos as well.

As we can see, there are many unstated assumptions which if doesn't hold true, the author's conclusion will by utterly wrong.