The following appeared as part of a petition sent to residents of Youngtown by an environmental protection group:

“The Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in our area. Although only a small percentage of the land will be sold to Smith, the proposed development will have disastrous consequences for our area. The company plans to build a small hotel on the land. Although they have promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary, there is no way that their plans will do anything but harm the sanctuary. There are no circumstances under which this sale will benefit our community, which relies on tourists who visit primarily to see our magnificent bird population.”

Youngtown is home to 300 bird species and hence,it attracts tourists who specially come here to see it's magnificent bird population.The smith corporation plans to buy a piece of land and plans to build a hotel.They have promised that they would ensure preservation of the sanctuary.The petition is obscure and needs to answer some questions.

The smith corporation plans to build a small hotel on the land which is now a part of youngtown wildlife preserve.Although smith corporation ensures that they would not do any harm to the sanctuary,their plans do not bolster it.If the smith corporation plans to build a hotel,it would have to clear the area which would primarily involve deforestation.This could not only involve cutting of trees but also decimation of the birds habitat.This could cause a decline in the birds population and also result in the birds migration. This in turn could have a negative impact on the tourism and would do more harm than good to the youngtown community.

The smith corporation would develop only a small amount of land and make a small hotel.This hotel could be a benefit for the tourists as they would get to witness the birds right from the hotel and they would be able to spend maximum time with the birds which their primary motive is for visiting youngtown.This can lead to an increase in the tourism and would benefit the youngtown community more.

The smith corporation has ensured preservation of the sanctuary and hence there is no evidence that it would definitely harm the sanctuary.

The environmental protection group should answer why smith corporation would definitely do more harm than good to the sanctuary?The small hotel proposed to be built by the smith corporation could allow tourists to live near the sanctuary which the tourists would like and hence it could lead to an increase in tourism which would benefit the company more.