A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

Crime is a parameter which is used to judge a country for it's safety. A country with lowest crime percentage is termed as the safest. Whereas, a country with highest crime percentage is termed as dangerous to live in. If a person knowingly commits a crime, it could have been possible that he had a purpose or was in a situation to do so. We should understand the purpose of his doings so that we can take further action on whether he or she is eligible to have civil rights.

It could have been the case where a person knowingly committed crime to help someone in need. For instance, a person broke the traffic red light so that he could reach the hospital on time to save his mother who suffered a heart attack at home . So, instead of waiting for the ambulance, the person took the responsibility on his shoulders. He did know that he had committed a crime by overspeeding and driving past the red light. But, he had a role to play and he ultimately ended up saving his mother's life. For all we know is that the person might be a good person at heart and he would have been in a situation where he had to commmit crime to help or save someone in need.

On the other hand, such a person might be a criminal who does not take law seriously. If the person commits crime once knowingly, he or she might as well do it again. He or she is dangerous or vulnerable to the public. They can not be trusted. They have committed a crime purposely and would be well aware of the social implications which would follow. Not only have they broken the social contract, they have made themselves look vulnerable to trust again. It is blatant that they should not retain any right to benefit from his or her own labor as they knew what they were doing through their actions. If a person has committed crime for only his or her desires and not to benefit anyone, the civil rights of such a person should be withdrawn. Such behaviour shoud not be tolerated. It reflects casual behaviour of the person towards the law and also that he does not fear the doings of his actions.

To conclude, if a person knowingly commits a crime, he has broken the social contract but the purpose of the person shoud be evaluated. If the person was a altruist and did it for the benefit of the other, he should be vindicated. If, he or she did it to fulfil his or her own desires, the person is not liable to any civil rights and therefore the right to benefit of such a person should be revoked.