To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.
When a country is growing in terms of economy, infrastructure, politics and so on, major cities have a big role to play in it. Major cities are the only place where we can expect
to see diverse group of people from all backgrounds ranging from pharmeucutical to engineering. So, the statement makes a valid point that to understand the important characteristics
of a society, one must study its major cities. Characteristics of society may include honesty, loyalty, poverty, punctuality and so on.
Major cities have a good amount of population, infrastructure, malls and facilities like healthcare are easily accessible. These things contribute in the development of the country.
Since we can find all professionals such as doctor, engineers, investment bankers in major cities, this would aid in understanding the important characteristics of society.
The study would have diversity, profound research and we can arrive at conclusion. Major cities would cover all types of people such as high class, middle class or be it low class.
Hence, the study can cover poverty, honesty, loyalty, punctuality and so on. Major cities would be home to a lot of business as well as big tech giants. Therefore,
it covers a vast chunk of people from economic status to diversity. Major cities would also contain educational institutions from nursery to graduate schools. This would help
cover all the age groups and study would become profound.
However, it might be possible that a vast population would not live in major cities and reside in rural areas. If study is based on major cities, the research would not be able
to explain the characteristics of society. Some ajor cities might not be reflection of ideal society and hence any study made on it would be questionable. This would not only undermine
the characteristics of society but also spread false information through the studies. For instance, a city like mumbai in india is fast-paced. It is believed to be the city of dreams. It
is said that mumbai never sleeps. People are always in haste here and this could even undermine the study and develop a prejudice which might not be true.
It can be said that to understand the most important characteristics of a society, we can study it's major cities. This statement has both pros and cons but the odds
are in favour of pros.