"The following appeared as part of a petition sent to residents of Youngtown by an environmental protection group:

"The Smith Corporation shouldn't be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in our area. Although only a small percentage of the land will be sold to Smith,the proposed development will have disastrous consequences for our area. The company plans to build a small hotel on the land. Although they have promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary,there is no way that their plans will do anything but harm the sanctuary. There are no circumstances under which this sale will benefit our community, which relies on tourists who visit primarily to see our magnificent bird population."" -

Write a response in which you examine the started and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument seems to be convincing at first but upon looking into it more profoundly, we find out that the argument is rife with holes and assumptions. Thus, to come to the conclusion, the author must consider all these assumptions and then make a statement regarding the petition.

At first, it is said that only a small part of the entire land area will be sold to smith. Here, it is nowhere mentioned how small or what is the area of the land that is being sold. if the land area that is being given to smith is very small as compared to the total area of the santuary then this should not affect the wildlife in anyway.

Moreover, it is also said that smith is wiiling to build a hotel on that land. And as mentioned by the author that the community benefits from tourists who come to see their prestigiuos wildlife santuary, so indirectly this may benefit the community itself if there is a plan to build a hotel which could act as a place for the tourists to make themselves comfortable. there is also no mention of any other accomodations for these tourists. They may be staying at hotels or towns nearby this santuary but building a hotel nearby will be nothing but beneficial for the community.

Furthermore, it is said that there is no way to ensure that smith will not ruin the santuary or cause any kind of harm. so the author indirectly tries to depict that the building of the hotel and all the other plans that smith has regarding the land will cause harm to the santuary. but as the santuary is the most important tourist attraction, smith may not only not cause harm but also take several measures to protect it. After building a hotel, the revenue will generate only if maximum people come and visit the place. this will happen only if the santuary is well preserved and hence tourists may visit the place and also make a stay at the hotel which may benefit both, the santuary and smith.

Thus, if all the above assumptions have not been taken into proper consideration then the argument of the author is baseless. Hece, the author must consider all the assumptions and then arrive at the right conclusion.