In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In any field of inquiry, research, etc. it is not always the case that a beginner makes more important contributions than an experienced person or an expert.

If we consider a field of research in which experience plays a big role then surely the expert is the one to make important contributions in the field. For example, identifying areas which are quake prone is the job of an expert, who has been the same field for years and not any tyro who has just entered the field.

Also if we consider various other fields like quantum physics, archelogy, etc. which require a lot of expertise then it is the expert who comes into play whilst making important decisions and contributions to the field.

Contrary to the above explanations, sometimes a beginner could also be helpful and make some very important contributions. For example in the medical field, the invention of new medicines can also be done by beginners if their knowledge is sufficient for it. If we consider the Covid-19 pandemic then not only the experts but also the beginners will have a great hand in the development of a vaccine because no one has the idea or the knowledge required to make the vaccine for this virus. Similarly we can also cite upon the invention of light. Edinson had no idea how to do it and was not an expert in the field of electricity or light but that contribution of his has proved to be one of the greatest inventions of all time.

Having expertise in a field is always an excellent achievement and these people are more likely to make important contributions in their respective fields. Whereas, even if someone is a beginner they can make contributions to the field if they put in a lot of hard work and effort.