"All students should be required to take the driver's education course at Centerville High School. In the past two years, several accidents in and around Centerville have involved teenage drivers. Since a number of parents in Centerville have complained that they are too busy to teach their teenagers to drive, some other instruction is necessary to ensure that these teenagers are safe drivers. Although there are two driving schools in Centerville, parents on a tight budget cannot afford to pay for driving instruction. Therefore an effective and mandatory program sponsored by the high school is the only solution to this serious problem."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument presented by the author seems to be convincing at first. But upon looking into it more carefully, it is evident that the argument stated by the author is rife with holes and assumptions. Thus, these assumptions must be taken into consideration before drawing any conclusion.

Firstly, it is stated that in the past two years, there have been several accidents which involve teenagers. This is one of the reasons the author has based his/her conclusion upon. Here, the statement is very narrow and some points need to be considered. Several teenagers does not mean there were a large number of teenagers involved in the accident as it does not give any significant numeric figure. Also, the teenagers involved in the accident might not be at fault for causing the same. Apart from this, the accidents which do not involve teenagers at all might be very much greater than those which involve teenagers.

Moving forward the author also states that the parents of the teenagers are very busy to teach them driving. This does not mean that the teenagers cannot learn driving if not taught by their parents. There may be many people in Centerville who might be willing to teach the teenagers how to drive. All the teenagers might have friends of their own who might be willing to teach them driving. Thus, just because the parents are busy, we cannot come to the conclusion that there is a need for a driving education course.

Also, the author mentions that the two driving schools which are already present are not budget-friendly. Again, it is not mentioned anywhere regarding the number of parents who have a tight budget. There may be very few parents who cannot afford those driving schools while others may not have any problem with bearing the cost of the driving school for a safe and well instructed driving course.

It is also mentioned that due to these various problems, the high school should sponsor a driving program. It is nowhere mentioned what is the cost of setting up the entire program. If the cost of the program is very high then the high school may not be willing to make efforts and put in money to set up the program. Instead, they could use that money somewhere else where it is more required.

Thus, it is safe to say that there are many assumptions taken by the author. These assumptions must be taken into consideration and once all of them have been correctly dealt with, the author must conclude his/her argument.