The following appeared in a memo from the mayor of the town of West Egg.

"Two years ago, our consultants predicted that West Egg's landfill, which is used for garbage disposal, would be completely filled within five years. During the past two years, however, town residents have been recycling twice as much aluminum and paper as they did in previous years. Next month the amount of material recycled should further increase, since charges for garbage pickup will double. Furthermore, over ninety percent of the respondents to a recent survey said that they would do more recycling in the future. Because of our residents' strong commitment to recycling, the available space in our landfill should last for considerably longer than predicted."

The passage talks about the time for which the landfill will last. The author gives various reasons in order to dissent with the prediction of the consultants that the landfill in West Egg will be full in not more than five years. While providing reasons, the author makes certain assumptions and thus it is safe to say that his/her argument must only be taken into consideration once it free of all the holes and assumptions.

Firstly, the author says that the residents have been recycling twice as much as they did in the previous years. Considering this, the author later claims that the available space for garbage disposal will last longer than predicted. Here, the author does not provide details of the recyclable material being purchased or how many people have being recycling. It may happen that the material which can be recycled is being purchased in huge amounts and even after recycling it, the end result can be worse than what it was before. Also if the number of people who recycle these materials are very less as compared to the population of the town then it may not help much to preserve the landfill for a long time.

Furthermore, the author assumes that because the charge for the pickup of garbage material will be doubled, the amount of recycled material will increase. This assumption is very vague. The residents of this town may be wealthy and would not mind spending more money for garbage pickup. Moreover, the author does not provide any details about the amount of money which is currently required for garbage pickup. If this amount is very less, then the residents may not even hesitate before spending double the current amount of money.

Speaking about the survey, the author says that over 90 percent of the residents would do more recycling in the future. Based on this survey itself, the author assumes that the residents are committed towards recycling of products. But there is a possibility that the people who participated in this survey may want to appear caring and cautious towards the environment and thus the outcome of the survey depicted that the residents want to recycle products.

The author has taken many assumptions and neglected various possibilities. Thus, in order to say for how much long will the landfill last, the author must take into consideration all the above mentioned possibilities.