The following appeared in a memo from the mayor of the town of West Egg. “Two years ago, our consultants predicted that West Egg’s landfill, which is used for garbage disposal, would be completely filled within five years. During the past two years, however, town residents have been recycling twice as much aluminum and paper as they did in previous years. Next month the amount of material recycled should further increase, since charges for garbage pickup will double. Furthermore, over ninety percent of the respondents to a recent survey said that they would do more recycling in the future. Because of our residents’ strong commitment to recycling, the available space in our landfill should last for considerably longer than predicted.”

The memo to the mayor of the town of west Egg claims that the landfill space of West Egg will last more than it was predicted to be as the residents are highly committed towards recycling of wastage. The author assumes that the increment in the charges for garbage pick up and the rise in the number of materials recycled would definitely make the landfill last long. The assumptions made in order to support the argument in the memo, however, is not convincing to me at all.

Firstly, can recycling of only aluminum and paper helps to reduce the garbage disposal in the landfill? A huge amount of garbage in landfill constitutes of plastics, plastic made materials and rubber. So, it does not necessarily mean that the amount of garbage will decrease. The waste materials would rather increase if these types of wastages are not managed properly. Furthermore, the memo does not provide any evidence that such waste materials are also being recycled or regulated. Thus, the recycling of paper and aluminum will not make huge impact on controlling of filling up in the landfill.

Secondly, the memo argues that when the charges will be doubled, it bolsters the people’s intention to recycle more. Nevertheless, increment in the charges may not encourage people to recycle because the wastages that are produced daily may not be possible to recycle. In such cases, people will be ready to pay charges even if the charges are doubled or even tripled and would rather want the garbage disposed. Consequently, it is not sure that every garbage produced will recycled, and there is no point in collecting extra charges.

In addition, the responses collected from the survey, perhaps, may not be actually genuine. It is possible that people might have given bogus feedback in an attempt to show that they are apathetic about recycling of wastage to promote environmental conservation. Moreover, it is not substantiated that the survey conducted includes only the residents of West Egg or the people from neighboring places are also included. Even if the survey comprised of the residents of West Egg only and the people are committed to recycling, it has neglected the fact that the population of that place will increase in future (due to migration or increase in number of birth). This will obviously increase the waste materials in future.

In a nutshell, the argument is considerably flawed to me due to unwarranted assumptions. Therefore, had the memo analyzed the above discussed issues, it would have been more convincing.