The following appeared in a memo from the mayor of the town of West Egg:

"Two years ago, our consultants predicted that West Egg's landfill, which is used for garbage disposal, would be completely filled within five years. During the past two years, however, town residents have been recycling twice as much aluminum and paper as they did in previous years. Next month the amount of material recycled should further increase, since charges for garbage pickup will double. Furthermore, over ninety percent of the respondents to a recent survey said that they would do more recycling in the future. Because of our residents' strong commitment to recycling, the available space in our landfill should last for considerably longer than predicted."

The argument indicates that the available space in West Egg Town’s landfill should last for considerably longer than predicted. Since the author demonstrates that the town’s residents have been recycling twice as much material as they did in previous years, the amount of recycled material should further increase due to higher pickup household garbage fee, and over 90 percent of the respondents to a recent survey said that they would do more recycling in the future, therefore the author considers that the available space would not be completely filled within five years. However, there are several evidences needed to strengthen the argument.

First of all, although the author declares that the town’s residents have been recycling twice as much material as they did during the past two years, the evidence of the unchanged amount of garbage is needed to prove that the increased recycling activities are useful for garbage disposal, which would not be filled within five years. Because if the amount of garbage increases as the number of recycling increases, the recycling is not significant as the situation when the amount of garbage does not increase. The landfill will be filled within as usual like five years, which there is no available space lasted for considerably longer than predicted.

In addition, the evidence of the town’s residents would keep recycling in the future and the amount of recycled material would increase are needed since the present situation cannot represent the future. Although the residents are willing to recycle now, what if the number of residents does less recycling in the future, thus the West Egg’s landfill would be completely filled within five years. Besides, the evidence of increased recycled material in the future is important since if the recycled material does not increase, instead of other garbage increase, the total amount of garbage will increase which causes the available space in the landfill to be less.

Finally, evidence of the credibility of the survey is needed to strengthen the argument. Even though the author mentions that over 90 percent of the respondents to a recent survey said that they would do more recycling in the future, the number of respondents is unknown, and the reliability is

unknown. Therefore, the author needs to illustrate the number of respondents and the credibility of those respondents to indicate the survey can support the prediction.

In general, three more pieces of evidence are needed to strengthen the argument that the available space in West Egg Town’s landfill should last for considerably longer than predicted because of a strong commitment to recycling. The first evidence should explain that the amount of recycled material increases as usual in the future, then the future situation about increased recycled material is needed, and the credibility of the survey should be provided to strengthen the argument.