The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The memo analysed reasons for the decreasing number of people attending Super Screen-produced movies during last year. The advertising director concluded that this decrease is not because of the quality of the movies but due to the paucity of advertisement. This essay is going to argue that three questions need to be asked before the above conclusion can be reached. Explicitly, whether the phenomenon is unique for last year; the exact mechanism behind movie evaluation; and the existence of other elements affecting the number of movie audience.

The first important question needs to be asked is whether there is anything special happened during last year. It is apparent that the decline of movie audience in one single year cannot be used as a general trend, because real word phenomena involves a large amount of randomness. For example, since the economy has its inherent cycles, it is likely that last year experienced an economic depression, and thus people tend to save more and spend less on entertainment. If that is true, then the decrease of movie audience has nothing to do with the Super Screen Movie Production Company itself. The company does not need to change its marketing strategy, instead, it only has to wait for the market to recover. Otherwise, if there is

nothing special happened, the company might need to suspect if the decline is due to their unpreferable market strategy and thus adjust the budget on advertising.

The second question needs to be addressed is the exact mechanism behind movie evaluation. It is probable that people are more inclined to evaluate a movie if they are consent about it. In this case, if people's degree of satisfaction is associated with the probability that they evaluate the movie, it is not surprising that the evaluation appears to be positive. However, with this respect, the evaluation system is actually confounded by other element other than the quality of the movie, and thus it becomes uninformative. Whence, the company should be cautious when using the evaluation as a measurement of the movie quality, because it might not reveal the truth.

The last question is whether there exist other reasons leading to the decreasing volume of audience. It might be the case that the true reason that people do not want to consume Super Screen movies is that the price is too expensive. Or, alternatively, the location of the theaters are not convenient enough. Therefore, solely increasing the budget on advertising might not be beneficent. The company should first investigate the real reason closely. Nevertheless, if it is certain that advertising is the leading reason for that sell declination, then increasing the budget on it would likely be necessary.

In conclusion, this essay has argued that three questions - the uniqueness of last year, the mechanism of movie evaluation, and the possibility of other reasons - needs to be asked, depending on which, the solution of increasing budget on advertisement might or might not be helpful. Further studies could be conducted on the possibilities to improve the movie evaluation system to make it more informative and reliable both to the movie producers and to other audiences.