The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The avertising director of the company contends that the company should give more budget to the advertising section because the company is not well known based on the fact that the number of people who attended the movies are the lowest while the rate of positive reviews goes up. The statement seems concise and straightforward, there are some logical misconstruings that the director made.

First, the increased percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers are not about all of Super Screen-produced movies. the director mentioned that the percentage of specific movies' positive reviews have increased which leaves the possibility of the overall positive reviews of the movies have actually went down. For example, the positive review percentages of two or three movies, or even one, have increased a single percent point while the positive review percentages of other fifty movies could have decreased significantly like 10 percent points. In this case, the overall changes of positive reviews would be absolutely minus. Just by the data from particular movies, concluding that the quality of the movies is not the problem is myopic.

Also, the number of people who attended the Super Screen-produced movies could not be the significant number to determine the yearly budget. For the company, the number of the movies which was watched is more important. The number of attendents and the number of watched movies are relevent but they are not proportional. For instance, it would be better for the company a single person watching 100 movies than 10 people watching 50 movies as a whole. If the number of movies that was watched have decreased, the company should think about reason why it decreased such as the quality of the movies.

Even though the comments of specific movies represents the whole and the decrease of attendents is important, there are no reason linking it with the content that the problem does not link with the quality of the movies.

For these reasons, that the increased percentage of positive reviews are about the specific movies and the number of attendents may not influence much, the owner of the company should reconsider the director's suggestion.