"The population of Balmer Island increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians(4), the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by each of the island's six moped and bicycle rental companies(5) from 50 per day to 30 per day(6) during the summer season(7). By limiting the number of rentals, the town council is sure to attain the 50 percent reduction in moped accidents(1,4) that was achieved last year in the neighboring island of Torseau(3), when Torseau's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals(2)."

The letter's author recommends that the restriction in the number of mopeds rented by each of the island's companies can decrease the accident rate including mopeds and pedestrians. The author reasons that the increasing rental mopeds may result in the presence of more accidents. To support the recommendation the author indicates that in the neighboring island, the moped accidents through this recommendation.There are several reasons why this argument for the reduction of accidents is not convincing.

First of all, even assuming that the survey data from the neighboring island of Torseau accurately reflects the positive effect of the limits on moped rentals, the argument unfairly assumes that the number of rentals affects the number of accidents at Balmer Island. Perhaps Balmer Island has certain unique design of the crossroads that require more traffic lights and zebra crossings. For that matter, perhaps fewer traffic lights to set is an advantage in Balmer Island, whereas in the neighboring island either is a disadvantage. In short, without accounting for possible differences between Balmer Island and the neighAboring island of Torseau the author cannot convince me that his recommendation for Balmer Island is sound.

Secondly,the author points out that town council should limit the number of moped rentals from 50 per day to 30 per day.But it is not clear that what percentage of mopeds in Balmer Island is rented by the six companies, the recommendation thereby is not compellent.

Thirdly,the author commits the fallacy of “all things are equal”. However, it is possible that some other factors that affect accidents rate might change after the restrictions are enacted. For example, if we have evidence suggesting that, after the restrictions are enacted,the roads may be reconstructed and introduce a new element that affects the rate of moped-pedestrian.Thus, the fact that happened last year is not a sound evidence to draw a conclusion that the restrictions in the amount of moped rentals is an effective method to reduce the accident rate.

Finally,the author indicates the fact that there was a 50% decline in Toseau's moped accident rate.Apart from the explanation of limiting the quantities of moped rentals, he may ignore other reasons to explain why the reduction happened last year.For instance,it's possible that the drivers would obey the traffic rules and keep safe distance with other moped rentals.

In conclusion, we need to have additional evidence in order to get a more complete evaluation about pvalidation of the restrictions of moped rentals.We need to know the difference between Bamer Island and Toseau and the total number of mopeds from the six companies. We also need to know whether all other factors would change after the restrictions are enacted.Finally,we need abundance of information to verify the restrictions was the only explanation for the decline in the accident rate last year.