Write a response in which you discuss which view aligns more closely with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Some people believe it is often necessary, even desirable, for political leaders to withhold information from the public.

Others believe the public has a right to be fully informed

In recent years, it has been receiving excessive attention that to what extent should the public be exposed to information. Some people argue that it is desirable and beneficial for political leaders to withhold some information. While others claim that the public have the right to be fully informed. This essay is going to support the second view by arguing that the public is eligible to have access to full information, and this is due to three considerations - people rely on information to make their own political decisions, avoid potential risks, and aware corruptions of political leaders.

Firstly, in a democratic society, every single citizen has the right to make their own political decisions based on the information available. These decisions help citizens to participate in politics by voting political parties and leaders to represent their wills, which is also the approach that autonomy, as the desired political state, can be achieved, argued by John S. Mill in his masterpiece ​On Liberty

​ . If some of the important information is deliberately withheld, people can then receive piecewise, or even biased, information, and therefore the political decision they make cannot represent their true wills. In extreme cases, when reality deviates too far from people’s ideal, violent revolution would become the only solution. Therefore, it is crucial that people be fully informed. However, some people might argue that it’s an inefficient way to let normal people make political decisions because they are not as well-educated and trained as professional political leaders and elites. Rather than giving out full information and having to deal with various public opinions and potential disputes, political leader probably prefer to make the best arrangement themselves, which to a large extent safes time resources. Nevertheless, it is worth noting that from a liberal perspective, the function of a national government is to represent people. More explicitly, the responsibility of political leaders is not to make their own judgements, but to act according to people’s will. Therefore, political leaders, most frequently, are able to make better decisions, but that should not be the excuse that they withhold the information from people and refuse to follow public decisions.

Secondly, people rely on full information to avoid potential risks and lost. For instance, information of domestic deflation might act as signals for people to invest in foreign markets.

Information of domestic political restless can trigger the reaction of immigration. Information about extreme weather reminds people to stock sufficient food and living necessities. Without full information, people would lose the opportunity to prepare for the worst, and thus are more likely to suffer. However, critiques may claim that such information, like economic depression, political unrest, and climatic extremes would create a panic atmosphere among the society. What’s more, due to the rapid development of media, the difficulty of spreading misleading information and creating unnecessary panic is strikingly low. With this respect, the government can indeed first decide whether the information is genuine, and then react and prepare for the worst without even letting the public know. In that way, the potential panic and social unrest can be avoided to the largest extent. Notwithstanding, such criticism again put the government in the wrong position. In effect, political leaders are not legitimate to judge whether a situation is real or not. Moreover, people have the freedom to choose whatever way they feel suitable to face intense situations, while the government’s reaction might sacrifice someone’s utility.

Last but not least, the reason that government chooses to withhold information might not out of good initiatives. In reality, the most typical reason that a political leader wants to hide information is matters related to scandals and corruption. In this scenario, it is indispensable that the public have access to those hidden information and examine the political leader’s behaviour and moral merits. However, a seemingly plausible criticism can be that political leaders also have the right to have their privacy, and thus it is unfair that these private information being exposed to the public. Nonetheless, that counter-argument ignores the fact that when choosing to become a public figure, those politicians are aware of this loss of privacy, but they choose to trade off their privacy with bigger impact and larger power after meditation. Therefore, it should be considered as part of their responsibility to reveal every piece of information to the public.

To conclude, this essay has argued that the public should be fully informed and political leaders have no right to withhold any piece of information they obtain. That is because citizens need information to form their decisions and thus avoid risks and minimise losses. Only in that way can autonomy be achieved. Moreover, the public need information to supervise political leaders to ensure that they remain to be appropriate representatives of the nation. Further studies can be conducted on the way to minimise the disadvantages of exposure to full information. After all, free access to information is a solid foundation of achieving liberal democracy.