The following appeared in a memo from the mayor of the town of West Egg.

"Two years ago, our consultants predicted that West Egg's landfill, which is used for garbage

disposal, would be completely filled within five years. During the past two years, however, town

residents have been recycling twice as much aluminum and paper as they did in previous

years. Next month the amount of material recycled should further increase since charges for

garbage pickup will double. Furthermore, over ninety percent of the respondents to a recent

survey said that they would do more recycling in the future. Because of our residents' strong

commitment to recycling, the available space in our landfill should last for considerably longer

than predicted."

The mayor of town of West Egg. is convinced that the available space in the landfill of West Egg. to have some room for future use for a considerable amount of time. The author comes to the conclusion relying on the resident's putatively strong commitment to recycle their waste. The author needs to ponder upon the following three questions and clarify the assumptions that seem unwarranted. This might make the argument more sound and cogent.

How much does the recycling of aluminium and paper by the residents, impede the process of the landfill getting filled up? Perhaps, the aluminium and the paper that the residents have been recycling in doubled rate since the last time consultants foresaw the landfill space crunch two years back, might not be effective enough to hinder the process significantly. It is possible the contribituion of other elements like plastics and clothing materials may have a larger impact on the process of the landfill filling up. The author needs to involve himself into getting an idea of the composition of the average amount of waste that gets disposed.

Does the doubling of charges ensure the increase of recyling endeavours by the residents? It is possible the residents who have already been contributing to the good cause by recycling at doubled rates might get dejected and discouraged due to the increase in garbage pickup charges.This might lead to the residents becoming apathetic to the cause and increase littering aroud the town of West Egg. The author should take into consideration the sentiment of the residents to impose such an price increase to prevent any possible backlash.

What renders the conducted survey reliable? Perhaps the a wider section of the residents didn't take the survey with seriousness and responded to it callously. It might also be possible that the response of the survey is promising because the people might be hoping for some conditional incentives that they might receive for recycling their waste. Rather they are incognizant of the fact that the garbage pickup prices are going to increase. Adding to the above possibility the survey's reliability is further questionable, as it provides no estimate of the waste that would be recylable, by a particular resident and his family (if present). The author must include more basis for the survey for example how much waste is generated by a family and how much of that is estimated to be recylable, to get an lucid simulacrum of the issue at hand.

In conclusion, based on the unwarranted assumptions as stated above the argument stands infirm. The author should conduct an even more detailed survey, and also take into consideration the composition of the dross that is dumped into the landfill. This would help the mayor of the town of West Egg. to come to a better conclusion and fortify the argument.