"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

On glancing through the argument at first, the statement made by the author seems convincing. But on closely looking into it, it is found that the argument is rife with holes and assumptions.

Firstly, it is mentioned in the passage that over the last year there were about twenty days in which this region experienced below-average temperatures. This statement is very narrow. We do not have any idea about what was the actual temperature of the region. For example, if the average temperature of the region is around 10 degrees and furthermore it falls below this temperature to say 5 degrees. This is not a drastic change. Thus, this in no ways suggests that there will be a demand for more oil.

Apart from this, many new homes have been built in this region. Again, just because more people are moving in, it does not necessarily mean that there will be a rise in the demand for oil for heating purposes. These people moving in may have stayed in regions even more colder than this. For them, the temperature of the Northeastern US may not be severe. They may be also enjoying it.

Moreover, we cannot predict that there will be a rise in the demand for the heating oil in the future. It may happen that in the coming future, the ways of heating may change. Advancements in technologies may give way to various innovations such as electric heaters, etc. And if all the public shifts to using these electric heaters then the demand for heating oil will fall down drastically.

It has also been said that investment in Consolidated industries is profitable for the future as its major business is the sale of heating oil. But we cannot simply invest based on this one point. We also need to understand the company's future aspects regarding the oil sale. What if the company decides to reduce this particular business operation and instead focus on some other operation. This will not be a good scenario for those who have invested solely on the basis that the company's major business is heating oil sale.

Thus, before making any decisions, the author must consider all of the above mentioned points and assumptions. Only the will the author be able to come to a good conclusion.