The following appeared as part of a recommendation from the financial planning office to the administration of Fern Valley University.

"In the past few years, Fern Valley University has suffered from a decline in both enrollments and admissions applications. The reason can be discovered from our students, who most often cite poor teaching and inadequate library resources as their chief sources of dissatisfaction with Fern Valley. Therefore, in order to increase the number of students attending our university, and hence to regain our position as the most prestigious university in the greater Fern Valley metropolitan area, it is necessary to initiate a fund-raising campaign among the alumni that will enable us to expand the range of subjects we teach and to increase the size of our library facilities.“

Discuss how well reasoned you find this argument. In your discussion be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example, you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counterexamples might weaken the conclusion. You can also discuss what sort of evidence would strengthen or refute the argument, what changes in the argument would make it more logically sound, and what, if anything, would help you better evaluate its conclusion

The passage states the following problem: Over that past few years, there has been a decline in enrollments and admissions. Then the passage states a hypothesis for the reason behind this decline and then makes a suggestion, which aims to tackle the problem at its speculated cause. This line of argument relies on a plethora of assumptions, many of which are not very sound.

Firstly, it is not clear that the claim that most students cite poor teaching and inadequate library resources as a reason for their dissatisfaction is valid. The argumentative foundation for the passage would be strengthened, if this claim were to be substantiated by citing a relevant representative survey.

Secondly, related to the previous point is is also unclear whether the declining numbers of applications and admissions is caused by the dissatisfaction of current students. One the one hand, it might well be the case that the applicants are aware of a poor student satisfaction score of the university from university league tables for example, and as a result decide not to apply. One the other hand, many other alternative explanations are also possible and the passage does not argue convincingly that the former is the case. The numbers may for instance have dropped for completely unrelated reasons to student satisfaction, such as a general decline in University enrollment in the country as a whole, perhaps due to more appealing conditions at the job market. The argument presented could be strengthened by results of a representative survey among prospective students, inquiring about the reasons why fewer apply and also by inquiring at the admissions office what the reasons for fewer enrollments are.

Thirdly, it is agued that to solve the problem money should be raised, in order to then spend it on the factors previously assumed to be the cause of the problem. This logic also heavily relies on dubious assumptions. The previous paragraph already alluded one of them. Just to mention a few more: Would such a fund-raising campaign be successful? Is the bottle-neck for improving teaching and improving library resources really the lack of money that the university has, or would a reallocation within the universities current budget suffice? These copious questions show that in this third argumentative step is the least substantiated. I will just briefly offer alternative explanations to illustrate some ways in which the argument could be wrong. It could be the case that fundraising campaigns have proven to be ineffective in the past. Maybe there would be enough money in the university budget, but the universities executive committee is not willing to spend more money on these issues.

To conclude, it is clear from the analysis provided above that at each of the three transitional steps in the logic of the argument presented the passage relies heavily on assumptions, most of which need to be substantiated further in order to strengthen the position. Without such substantiation it can not be said that the reasoning is sound.