The following appeared as part of a recommendation from the financial planning office to the administration of Fern Valley University.

"In the past few years, Fern Valley University has suffered from a decline in both enrollments and admissions applications. The reason can be discovered from our students, who most often cite poor teaching and inadequate library resources as their chief sources of dissatisfaction with Fern Valley. Therefore, in order to increase the number of students attending our university, and hence to regain our position as the most prestigious university in the greater Fern Valley metropolitan area, it is necessary to initiate a fund-raising campaign among the alumni that will enable us to expand the range of subjects we teach and to increase the size of our library facilities."

Discuss how well reasoned you find this argument. In your discussion be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example, you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counterexamples might weaken the conclusion. You can also discuss what sort of evidence would strengthen or refute the argument, what changes in the argument would make it more logically sound, and what, if anything, would help you better evaluate its conclusion.

The argument is unconvincing as it leaves makes many sweeping generalizations and leaves many unwarranted assumptions which significantly hampers the merit of the statement.

The first and foremost assumption that the argument makes here is that the reason for the decline in the enrollments and admission applications is poor teaching and inadequate library resources. These could be the reasons of decline but it is not necessary that these were the chief sources of dissatisfaction. It could be possible that the students find the institute real expensive. The fees might be real high for the type of courses offered. The courses offered were not enough. There might be many courses which might be in the recent trend but the university doesn't have the courses.

Additionally, another big assumption the argument makes here is that starting a fund-raising campaign among the alumni could help solve this problem of decline in the enrollments and admission applications as the fund will enable the university to expand the range of subjects whereas we aren't really sure of what the cause is. So, starting a fund-raising campaign might or might not help.

Further, only by increasing the size of the library facilities is not important. The quality of teaching is what matters the most. More qualified and experienced teachers might be the most important and primary requirement which the argument fails to mention.

By making so many unwarranted assumptions that significantly undermines the argument. The argument becomes one dimensional in nature and fails to strike a chord with the reader. The efficacy of the statement is seriously compromised and renders it ineffective. As a reader one can't agree with the questionable assumptions that underlie the argument.