The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the given prompt, the committee of the city of Calatrava wants to redirect funds from education and student recreation sector to provide facilities for adults, as they assume the adult pouplation of the city is likely to increase. However, this doesn't seem to be the case: having less number of students enrolled in public schools and comparing birthrate from five years age and present time and predicting the birth rate. Do not give a clear picture of the youth population of Calatrava. The following points will further help to explain the flaws in the unstated assumptions made by the committee.

Firstly, It is generalized birthrate of the town has been declining because it is lower compared to five years ago. This is a vague assumption as nohting can be said about the four years in between : the birth rate in those middle years may have risen, fallen or fluctuated in different patterns. It is said the birthrate is half, but does not cleraly specify half in what sense, no clear deifinitons of birthrate has been stated. Assuming that birthrate is the number of babies born in an year, while not accounting for the demise for babies at birth gives a false representation of the number. Suppose, five years ago 1000 babies were born and later on 700 died on birth : then the birthrate is still 1000. Whereas, at present if 500 babies were born and 50 died at birth, then birthrate is half as compared to 5 years ago but number of babies born is more at present. Similarly, in the prompt this unstated assumption if proved correct would weaken the arugement.

Secondly, If less number of students enrolled for public schools It does not mean that less children are doing to schools or less children are being born. It simply means people are opting for private shcools and home education over publice school is the city. This may be due to poor educational services provided in the public school or the school are really far from residential areas making it harder to commute to public schools or the school may have poor and old infrastructure, which is not attracting and students. So, less children enrolled in school cannot be an indication of the youth population in the city.

Finally, It is assumed that adult population in the city is going to boom and so funds be migrated towards the activites and facilities catering to them. This cannot be clearly said nothing about the life expectany and moratlity rate of the poeple in the town has been spoken about. Also, reducing funding towards atheletic recreational acitvites will make the students lethargic and weak and will suffer from improper physical development. The adults who are intrested in such activites will also not find places where they can spend their leisure time and time with their families. In the future if these adults have kids they would not like if the city has lack of such facilites catering the need of their children. Making it a poor decision for the committee.

The following stated points show how the arguements is flawed and how some assumptions have been overlooked. The assumption that the youth population in the town is decreasing is weakend by the given facts in the essay.