In this memo, the committee argues that sufficient money collected by reducing education budget should be used for adults welfare like developing city facilities and programs. To support this argument, the author points out that the birthrate in this city is declining and reasons that Calatrava will face decline enrollment in public schools which will lead to budget reduction in education. The author also reasons that by using money in adults welfare will eventually bring up population increase. However, the argument seems specious in several grounds.

To begin with, the argument relies on the assumption that the decline in public schools enrollment will be in dramatic phase turns out to be reliable. What if Calatrava is administratively combined with adjacent cities and become the main city of that area, the public school enrollment won’t be dramatic. Although population decline issue cannot be solved right away but still the effort to aim population increase should not be overlooked also. What if the birthrate increases in the next 5 years even it is meager? Thus it is an over-generalization to conclude that the birthrate will be in decrease mode steadily and for that reason, reducing the future education budget isn’t reliable.

Even if, the memo fails to provide evidence to support this assumption. Due to such rapid decline leads to reducing education budgets, the funds should be used in programs aiming students to experience various job professionals like job expos. Population decline is expected to strike national issues economically and a skew of scholars are solicitous about the nation’s maintenance. With low population, it is difficult to resolve unwanted conflicts between different social classes as unbalanced displacement in various industry fields may cause income discrepancies. Thus students need to be exposed to rather more various experiences.

Furthermore, the author relies on the assumption that collecting sufficient money is expected due to reducing education budgets is a hasty assumption. Perhaps, the money will be consumed for other purposes such as promoting job establishments or funding bench enterprises. Even more, if the money spend on those fields excess the expected budget then the economy will be facing some critical deficits and will take numerous years to overcome which could bring economic stagnation to the city.

In sum, the argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it, the author must provide better evidence that the city will remain in current status with no city mergers. To better assess the argument we would need to know if there will be sufficient money collected due to budget reduce.