The following appeared in a recommendation from the planning department of the city of Transopolis."Ten years ago, as part of a comprehensive urban renewal program, the city of Transopolis adapted for industrial use a large area of severely substandard ho

The author in an argument concludes that in order to revitalize the city once more planning department of the city should take action similar to that of taken 10 years ago. The author in an argument assumes that ten years ago, as a part of a urban renewal program in the city, the city adopted for industrial use a large area on severely standard housing. After implementation such program it come to know that crimes rate in the area declined, also property tax revenues for the whole city decreased. The author also assumes that planning department of the city can implement such strategy or program again on nearby free space, as people can find refuge for their family since alternate houses and apartment till unoccupied. An argument has some unanswered question and hence, seems to be dubious. The author can strengthen it by providing more evidences. The argument has several serious flaws in it.

Firstly, the author in an argument assume fallacy that one program applicable and find effective ten years ago will implementable today also. While it sometimes true, not always. The conditions, population of the city, peoples behavior, their likes and dislikes, behavior, people’ needs also varies according to tailor in era or period. An argument has lack of population data, and some other characteristics of an area which may find effective to draw valuable conclusion.

Secondly, the author in an argument wrongly uses correlation proves causality. It is mentioned in an assumption that after implementation of urban renewal program in the city, it comes to know that crime rate decrease also proper tax increased. The author fails to provide cogent evidence that only such program is responsible to lower crime rates in an area. Moreover, there is no any relation between declining crime rate or enhancement in property tax. It may be a possibility that other factor causes decline in crime rate such as increase in police force, improvement in people’ behavior in the society.

Moreover, the author ignores a case that after few years people who lose their apartments and houses for second time implementation of a program may vagabond and homeless due to external factors. In addition, people who losses there houses or flats feel adaptable in previous area which went under program and would discontent due to unsuitability of resources, which may leads to bulk protest by rally of people who homeless because of their houses went under program.

In summary, an argument consist of many unanswered question, application of fallacies and lack of proof in relationships. The author in an argument wrongly uses fallacies such as thing applicable in past will also applicable to present or future, also, wrongly uses correlation proves causality. The author can make his conclusion well sounding and compelling by providing cogent evidences, well entrench relationships, statistical data of population ten years ago and present, people’ behavior in a society in past and today, etc. If author involves such data and details in his argument it will more corroborative and attractive.