The following appeared in a recommendation from the planning department of the city of Transopolis."Ten years ago, as part of a comprehensive urban renewal program, the city of Transopolis adapted for industrial use a large area of severely substandard ho

According to the author, he summarizes the success of transfering old and poor residential area into industrial factories, the he recommends this method to implement in the opposite side of the city. This suggestion is problematic in some parts ,let's evaluate this argument carefully.

To begin with, I doubt the time is too long for a new city planning in that the sucessful case the author tells us was happened ten years ago. Given so successul this area made, as an industrial region, the necessity of another new industrial area plan seems questionable. The author does not provide us the reason for create a new indutrial area. Because whether those new factories will thrive like the previous place's ones is in question. Maybe the established area was benifited from the freeway nearby which provide convinient transportation for products while the opposite place was in the moutain region where the transportation is not convinient as the previous one.

In addition, there is no sufficient statistics about the crime rates and property tax revenue. The author merely tells us the crime rates is declining and tax revenue is increasing. While without specific data we can not conclude this action of shifting residential area into industiral use works. Maybe the crime rate is decreasing a little bit and there are still lots of crimes in that place. Tax revenue, likewise.So the author should make a wide survey for this action to prove its success.

On the other hand, let discuss with the opposite side of the city. To be honest, I got few effective information of this area given by the author's statement. It would be arbitrary to copy the action implemented ten years ago in the othe side of the city.What's more, the author indicates that some houses and apartments are unoccupied so it would be easy to alternate housing for residents. First of all, we do not know how many buidings in total at this place,with out the number of these transigent residents, we can not make the conclusion that it would be an easy case of alternating new houses. Secondly, we do not know the most of the residents' opinions about this alternation. I believe some of them would be happy to live in a new house, while there is a high possibility that most of them wouldn't like to leave their homes.

In conclusion, I fully comprehend the author's mind which want to revitalize the city. While the evidences are not convincing by the aged time and lacking informations in both of the two places. He should make a wide survey and then to make a choice.