The following appeared in a recommendation from the planning department of the city of Transopolis.

"Ten years ago, as part of a comprehensive urban renewal program, the city of Transopolis adapted for industrial use a large area of severely substandard housing near the freeway. Subsequently, several factories were constructed there, crime rates in the area declined, and property tax revenues for the entire city increased. To further revitalize the city, we should now take similar action in a declining residential area on the opposite side of the city. Since some houses and apartments in existing nearby neighborhoods are currently unoccupied, alternate housing for those displaced by this action will be readily available."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author concludes that to fill a part of the city with new life it should undergo the same transformation that another part of the city underwent ten years ago. To arrive at this conclusion, the author of the prompt assumes somethings that, until proven true, spells disaster in the revitalization process of the moribund city area. But before moving on with the recommendation two important questions need to be answered.

First, has nothing changed in the ten years that followed the rejuvenation of the city of Transopolis? After all ten years is a lot of time. Many things change in this amount of time. The author assumes that what was applicable a decade ago still holds true. Setting of factories may have lured many unemployed workers a decade ago but there needs to be a variety of jobs in a city. Maybe the declining residential area is to be blamed on the monotonous life in the factory based city of Transopolis. Moreover, the people may be leaving the city in search of new and different job. The planning department must ruminate over the issue of the satisfaction level of the city's population before planning on establishing more factories.

Secondly, the author assumes that the two parts of the city are the same. However, no evidence is provided regarding the compatibility of the area with factories. It may happen that the area which the author is talking about will not support the factories which will defeat the purpose of revitalizing the city. Does the new are have enough water which is the most important resource of any factory? The author assumes that there are enough resources to support new industries but fails to provide any evidence. Until any proof surfaces about the gumption of the area, it would be foolish to establish new factories.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands is flawed due to the absence of enough evidence. If the author is able to provide enough proof to refute the above mentioned assumptions then there is no problem in moving on with the recommendation. Till then it would be advisable not to carry out the recommended path.