The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals

To say that the luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life is preventing people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals would be a long stretch. it is the most debated topic when it comes to comparing modern, better lifestyle with the old one. While the statement does bear some truth it is not the absolute truth, there are some aspects that are often overlooked which needs further evaluation.

First, the fact that due to the "contemporary conveniences" women are feeling empowered more than ever is irrefutable. In the olden days, women were not allowed to indulge in various activities, restrained from putting forward their opinions or even step out of the house after certain time. In the modern times all this has changed. Nowadays women can go on world tours due to the various services that the modern world has endowed everyone with. They can easily book a cab or even a hotel to stay on an entirely different part of the world. All this helps in making the person self-serving and strong. Not only women but children also can use these services easily to embark on a life long journey of becoming self-reliant from a very early age.

Second, talking about safety which is paramount to making an individual independent. In the modern world the streets, roads and houses are more secure than ever. due to this sense of security the individual feels more comfortable in carrying out the things and expressing the views that he feels is right for him. The fact that people can do this from the comfort of their homes, which is a benefit of the present-day world, makes the people more independent.

Third, the introduction of social media is also conducive in making people more independent and strong. Through the use of social media people are becoming more and more contumacious which is, one could argue, not a good thing but this goes to show that we are becoming more and more strong and independent.

All in all it would be wrong to assume that the comforts that have been bestowed to us is the Achilles heel that is taking the self-reliance away from us and simultaneously making us weak. it is definitely not a perfect world but la lot better, independent and stronger than the old days.