"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Leadership is a quality that not many people have. Those who are good leaders have one thing in common and that is having a good sense of cooperation. The prompt suggests that to prepare youngsters for leadership in any institution, be it government or any other fields, they should be motivated to imbibe the idea of cooperation and not competition. I agree with this suggestion and shall be putting forth my case with two reasons.

First of all, in our increasingly globalized world, having harmony among different groups can prove to be a lot more productive than having a sense of competing against each other. A government, for example, can only function if there is harmony among its members and at the helm of it is a person who knows how to lead with the help of each other. Since the younger generation of today will make the government of tomorrow, it is imperative that they learn from an early stage how to complete any given task by not competing against each other but by working with each other. Moreover, if people carry out any work with a mindset of defeating others by completing it earlier than others then the output is bound to fail because not much emphasis is laid on the quality of work. So, the sense of competition can prove to be disadvantageous here.

Furthermore, in any industry, any task is divided among groups and not carried out individually. So, knowing how to cooperate with each other will prove helpful in these situations. In any IT job, for instance, there are several teams and each team has a team leader. If the leader carries the impression of leading without the cooperation of others will be more beneficial, then he or she could not be farther away from truth. To complete any task in any industry, not just the IT industry, it is important that cooperation is prevalent among the members of the team. If the team leader takes help of others to complete his or her job then the job will be well done. So, it is important that the leader is cooperative and not just competitive.

In conclusion, it can be argued that having a sense of competition can make a person work hard, but in today's world working hard is not always the right answer. Good leaders must know the importance of helping others and asking for help at times of need. For this to happen, they should learn about cooperation from an early age.