Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Competition is a healthy thing given the 'dose' is limited. Unfortunately, in our present world the concept of healthy competition is so obscure that many students instead of understanding the concepts in their curriculum start memorizing them and thus defeat the purpose of education. So, I am in agreement with the prompt's suggestion that competition for obtaining higher marks or grades is circumscribing the quality of learning or education. There are many reasons for the same but here I will be manifesting two reasons to prove my point.

First of all, the sense of being the student with the highest grade in the class is making some students rote learners. But what is rote learning? Rote learning is defined as memorizing something by repeating it several times, most of the times without knowing its meaning. This enables the individual to keep that particular concept in mind for a short time only. It maybe good for the examinations as the student is able to replicate the studies in the exam paper but fails to remember anything in the long run. Moreover, this type of study producing students with well filled minds as opposed to the well formed minds which is the aim of education.

Secondly, with an eager mindset of procuring the highest grades, many students study only that part of the curriculum that yields the highest compensation in examination. Thus, they skip many other important and interesting facts provided in the book that may not be in their syllabus or may not yield more marks. Furthermore, the loss of this seemingly irrelevant content fails them in the other area where they me be applicable. For example, a student may skip the concept of momentum in Physics because no question from it is asked in the examination, but the same concept is applicable in other areas in Physics itself. Since the student does not know anything about momentum, it will present to him or her a myriad of difficulties in his or her studies. This example clearly shows how some students can blithely ignore some important fundamental concepts in any subject which is important for them in other areas.

However, some may present the counter argument that higher grades are necessary for admission in good institutions but how good a student with feeble fundamental concepts would do in college is any one's guess. Therefore, my argument that competition for higher grades is anything but beneficent for learning stands true.