The following appeared in a recommendation

from the President of the Amburg Chamber of

Commerce.

"Last October, the city of Belleville installed highintensity lighting in its central business district, and

vandalism there declined almost immediately. The

city of Amburg, on the other hand, recently institutedpolice patrols on bicycles in its business district.

However, the rate of vandalism here remains

constant. Since high-intensity lighting is clearly the

most effective way to combat crime, we recommend

using the money that is currently being spent on

bicycle patrols to install such lighting throughout

Amburg. If we install this high-intensity lighting, we

will significantly reduce crime rates in Amburg."

Write a response in which you discuss what

questions would need to be answered in order to

decide whether the recommendation is likely to have

the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the

answers to these questions would help to evaluate

the recommendation.

The author recommends that they should use the money that is currently being spent on bicycle patrols to install lighting throughout Amburg. The recommendation is mainly based on that the city of Belleville installed high-intensity lighting in its central business district and then vandalism there declined almost immediately, while the city of Amburg recently instituted police patrols on bicycles in its business district and the rate of vandalism here remains unchanged. Nevertheless, some questions should be addressed before the author proves the validity of this argument.

The author mentions that the city of Belleville installed high-intensity lighting in its central business district last October and then vandalism there declined almost immediately and infers that it is the installment that resulted in the decrease of vandalism. However, the sequence of the two events, in itself, does not sufficiently prove that the former one caused the latter one without some question being addressed. In all likelihood, the main factor of the declination of vandalism is that the city of Belleville promoted a sweeping moral education at the same time, so people may not make this immoral mistake due to the shame. It is also probable that the government of Belleville imposed heavier fine on those who are discovered to commit vandalism, so that people might not destroy the public facilities deliberately because they are fear of the punishment. Under these scenarios, the author fails to substantiate the argument.

The speaker also mentions that the city of Amburg recently instituted police patrols on bicycles in its business district and the rate of vandalism here remains unchanged. Basing on this fact, the author unfairly infers that these two things have a causality. Nevertheless, the causal relationship between the two events cannot hold water without the following questions being answered. Are there enough police patrols on bicycles instituted to ensure that all the vandalism will be discovered? Not exactly. It is entirely possible that there are only two police patrols in the whole business district. So the constant rate of vandalism can be attributed to the inadequacy of the polices rather than the uselessness of them. It is also probable that the former rate of vandalism is trivial, which means that it is still little even if unchanged, and the police patrols have already diminished this behavior in the maximum. Hence, answering the aforementioned questions might more defensibly reinforce the argument.

On the basis that the two causalities are justifiable, the author finally suggests that they should also install such lighting throughout Amburg. Nonetheless, the author fails to illustrate that the city of Belleville and Amburg are similar enough at every aspect and are indeed comparable. Many differences may exist in Belleville and Amburg and these differences might render the project proved to be effective in Belleville might not have the same effectiveness in Amburg. First, the business district in Belleville might be dark before so that the installment of lighting is effective, while in Amburg, the business district might be bright enough, which means that installing such lighting is of no sense. Even if the similar lighting may be conducive to the decrease of vandalism, it may not be useful to diminish the rates of all kinds of crime, such as stealing and robbing. To reduce these kids of crimes, police patrols might be proper because they are deterrent to the criminals. Without addressing these questions, the author cannot convincingly persuade us the feasibility and effectiveness of this recommendation.

To sum up, although the conclusion may be comprehensible in some aspects, some questions should be addressed before the author substantiates the argument. Had the author delivered more answers to the questions, the conclusion and the whole argument might be defensible.