The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia.

"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

The argument concludes that the use of salicylates in various food processing activities like flavor additive, will ultimately lead to a further decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia. To bolster this claim, the author mentions a study which asserts that there is a correlation between the increased usage of salicylates as food preserving agent and the decline of a number of headaches suffered by the people. In addition to this, the author puts forward the fact that aspirin and salicylates belong to the same chemical family. The conclusion of the argument is based on undependable and unreliable assumptions for which no clear proof is provided.

Firstly, the argument is based on a study that deals with data of the past 20 years; however, there is no authenticity provided for this study. The argument further fails to mention the authenticity of the organization conducting the study. To illustrate, if the study has been conducted by some college grad students or fledging researchers its validity is a big question. One can not be assured of the data collected and the method used for analyzing them. Unless the data is collected and approved by the health authorities of the city. It is also equally important to know the range of people considered. Had, the author provided this information the study would have been a reliable source in making decisions.

Moreover, the study does not mention whether the people considered consumed food containing salicylates as food preservative. It is possible that the decline in the number of cases is due to the improved lifestyle of people. Further, people might have reduced their screen time or started eye exercises or are keeping themselves hydrated. The argument does not state for sure that all the people considered were consuming preservative food in their regular diet. Unless the author provided us with the knowledge that the entire population under consideration is consuming preservative food the argument is weak and can not be trusted. Because if the people of Mentia are entirely against consuming preservative food then the entire argument falls apart.

Finally, it has been assumed that an increased consumption of salicylates will be useful in reducing the number of headaches. But the point worth noting here is, does excess of salicylates have no side effect or harm on the human body. It is quite possible that excess accumulation of salicylates can lead to several other severe diseases. Until the argument provides us with a health official claim stating that excess level of salicylates does not affect the body in any way it is not advisable to increase the consumption of salicylates. To strengthen the argument the effect of excess of salicylates needs provided for proper understanding of the case. The author needs to provide us with substantial evidence and research work proving that salicylates has only a positive effect on our body.

To sum up, increased use of salicylates in food processing activities will reduce headaches can not be assured with full guarantee. To go ahead with the conclusion the author needs to reconsider the validity of the study. The author must confirm that the study has been conducted by an authorized group. Further, the author needs to make sure that the excess of salicylates does not harm people of Mentia. With answers to these questions, one can make a strong conclusion on whether to support the decision or not.